Chapter History

The Beginning

Sigma Delta Chapter was founded on May 19 , 1972, at Auburn University by 14 great Omega men. These men brought forth a great legacy that is carried on to this day. Along with the Kappa Delta, Sigma Delta was the first black fraternity founded on a major white university in Alabama. Below are the great men who started it all. These men are collectively known as the Purple Smoke Gang.

1. Vernell Barnes
2. Jimmy Knight
3. Clifton Kirksey
4. Washington Carr
5. Norman Eubanks
6. Charles Smith
7. Bernard Bailey
8. Melvin Little
9. Jonathan Allen (Omega Chapter)
10. George Smith
11. Harold Drain
12. Donald Williams
13. Henry Aldridge
14. Jeff Green (Omega Chapter)